I participate in a boffer larp called Underworld, and I decided to have my Toymaker character have a single level of a skill called Blacksmithing.

And what does every blacksmith need? Why, a hammer of course!  At some point in the future my Toymaker will have a much smaller hammer (a repainted Fisher Price hammer) to suit her character and profession.  Til then, duck tape to the rescue! This is my first attempt to make such a hammer.  All in all, things have turned out decently, and my perfectionist tendencies are only grumbling at me instead of screaming.

I was given tips and instructions via a Facebook group for our larp.  Below are the materials I used, and pictures chronicling the steps I went through.

Materials:

  • 2 Key Rings
  • 2 Sponges
  • Grey Duck Tape
  • Black Duck Tape
  • Double Sided Carpet Tape (also pictured is Gorilla brand double sided tape)
  • Scissors
  • Wood Grain Patterned Duck Tape (not pictured)

20170211_211321

The first step was to link the two key rings together, like so:

20170211_211648

One ring is to put a sponge through and make a head for the hammer, the second ring will stick up through the top and serve to attach a lanyard or carabiner through.

Next, we put a sponge through one of the rings, until it looks a bit like the head of a hammer.

Setting this aside for now, take the second sponge and begin to tape around it to form a handle.  Be careful re-positioning any of the tape, as I found this will rip parts of the sponge off. (This I seem to have missed taking pictures of.)

Now we put our two sponges together!  Although not in the original instructions I was given, I found a small piece of double sided carpet tape helped keep the two sponges together as I wrapped duct tape around the 2 pieces.

After creating your hammer handle, place a small piece of double sided tape onto the end that will connect to the head of the hammer.  With this in place, take a long piece of duct tape and tape from the bottom of the handle, over the side of the hammer head, and through the second key ring.  You can either do this in one really long strip, or use two strips; one on either side.  This is a step I found to be fiddly and tricky; working with two strips was easier for me than one large piece.

Now that the handle is attached, it’s time to cover up that yellow sponge!  I decided to tape the outer edges first, but order doesn’t really matter here.  The fiddly section will be working around that second key ring again.  I’ve seen other people’s hammers having a clip  or a lanyard on the bottom of the hammer instead.  After making this hammer, if I ever make another I will most likely leave out the second key ring.

And now the hammer is done!  Aesthetically I didn’t end up caring for the black handle.  This is where patterned duct tape comes in handy!

It’s not my prettiest work, but all in all I’m pleased with the result.  My Toymaker now has a blacksmithing hammer!  She won’t be able to create much in the way of weapons and armour, but she will be able to help repair armour in game.

